Personal, Poetry, Relationships

Beautifully Tangled Sheets

I want to be tangled up in someone else’s sheets right now.
Not alone in my own bed.
I want to hear the sound of someone else sleeping…breathing.
Feel the warmth of their body next to mine.
I want the simplicity of two bodies under one blanket.
In sync with each other’s movements.

I want to wake up at 2:00am, see the slight separation between our bodies and snuggle my way back into his arms, feel him squeeze me tighter.
That’s the kind of security I’ve been searching for.
My body completely relaxed, I melt into him and into his sheets.
I feel safe and drift right back to sleep.

I want to be tangled up in someone else’s mind.
Not stuck bouncing thoughts around in my discombobulated head.
I want to hear the sound of our laughter fill the air like helium fills a balloon;
Laugh until we explode.
Laugh at people, at dogs in the park, at the things our mothers say.
To have the courage to laugh at ourselves.

I want the simplicity of two hands meshed together as one.
Like a form of art; blue mixing with red to make a perfect shade of purple.
Pull my hand to your lips; a simple kiss.
But one that not only is warm to the touch, but warms the depths of my heart.

And I know being all tangled up is messy.
              So
damn
messy.

It’s unorganized and chaotic.
But to connect yourself with another person; physically & mentally…
It’s an out-of-this-world kind of beautiful.

Leave a Reply

