Dogs, Product Reviews

Dog Allergies / Product Reviews

I have the two cutest dogs in the whole world.17358851_10154466510401527_2202623156709717527_o
Said all fur mamas everywhere.
But whatever, I just love my dogs so much.
Daisy is a 2 year old Pomeranian-Chihuahua and Charlie is a 7 year old Yorki-Chihuahua. I adopted them both from shelters which I would highly recommend to everyone. There is nothing wrong with shelter animals and they need a home.

Ever since Daisy & I moved to California, we’ve been fighting allergies. Poor Daisy has that reddish-brown coloring under her eyes from constant watering eyes. I bought a tear stain remover thinking it would lighten the color from her hair, but it didn’t do a damn thing. Then, after further research, I read, it’s mainly just to help remove those nasty chunks…Which it does do. So if that’s what you’re looking for, then try a tear stain remover. But if you want the dark coloring to go away, you need to prevent the eye watering long enough for the hair to grow out again. #LessonLearned

daisy333I also bought an eye rinse by NutriVet which is supposed to soothe her eyes… But, it just pisses her off, makes her face all wet, and since her eyes don’t actually seem to physically bother her (no visible itching), it’s not helpful. So maybe if your dog is always scratching/rubbing at their eyes, then this product may work well for you. #2ndLessonLearned

The vet advised Benadryl 12.5mg twice a day. I did some of my own research which recommends 1mg per pound 2-3 times per day (she is 9lbs, so for her, up to 27mg per day). So it’s pretty close. She’s only been on it for a little over a week but it seems to be helping.

Additionally, I give Daisy an allergy treat by NaturVet. It’s a mix of antioxidants to help relieve allergy signs and symptoms. I would recommend this because it’s easy to administer (she loves it) and it does seem to help.

I will be so excited to post once her hair grows out and there’s minimal coloring under the eyes!

Leave a Reply

